Pascha (Easter) 2013


Image

It is late afternoon here on my side of the world…. Sipping my cup of afternoon coffee and working on my term paper besides all the other things that need to be done (household chores, outdoor chores, work, etc), I decided to take a break and finally post our photos of our Pascha (Easter) celebration on my facebook page.

We had such a lovely family time this year. We spent it with our dear friend Pola at her beautiful cosy home. Hubby had gone a few days prior to the village and had brought the meat (lamb), fresh eggs, fresh goat’s milk and fresh homemade cheese from his cousin. Boy was everything delicious!!!!

We didn’t put the whole lamb on the spit, but we made BBQ lamb chops (ribs), village sausage, small greek pita breads, tzatziki, oven potatoes and wonderful green salad, red dyed eggs, tsoureki (Greek Easter bread), koulourakia (traditional Easter cookies) and a wonderful dessert with wafers.

Image

Image

Image

Image

On Holy Tuesday I made our traditional easter cookies (koulourakia) and Holy Thursday I dyed the eggs just like I used to do when I was a child with mum and dad.

All through Holy week the church services were wonderful. On Holy Friday we went to the Epitafio. It was decorated with beautiful yellow orchids. I chanted along with the ladies choir the Egomia… This whole week was absolutely awesome and touching.

Image

Image

Holy Saturday I prepared the mageiritsa soup which is eaten after Easter midnight service where we all celebrate the resurrection of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.

In a couple of weeks we will be celebrating Penticost. I can’t believe how time flies by so quickly…

These special days are made more special when we spend them with our loved ones, holding on to our customs and traditions, building new memories.

Cherish your times with your loved ones, whoever they may be.

8 thoughts on “Pascha (Easter) 2013

  1. Xristos Anesti my sweetheart!! Sounds like you had an amazing Easter!! I did as well! I did not go to church as I do not like the priest…alas, another post another day!!
    However; I did have youtube going all day Friday and Saturday… I still get goose bumps when I hear… “Axios esti…” Honestly Natasha, till this day I literally have tears appear before my eyes!! Yes, Worthy IS HE ALWAYS!!

    Xristos Anesti my friend!!♥♥

    1. Σε ευχαριστώ Μαρινάκι μου γλυκό!!!! Κι εσύ πάντα να περνάς καλά…. Φιλάκια πολλά

    1. It took me a while but as they say better late than never… hihihihi… I am off to bed because it is 1:30a.m here in Greece… Hope you have a beautiful and blessed day!!!!

YOUR COMMENTS BRING SO MUCH JOY TO ME, ESPECIALLY KNOWING THAT MOST OF US ARE MILES AND MILES AWAY FROM EACH OTHER. IT MAKES ME FEEL AS IF WE ARE TOGETHER ENJOYING FELLOWSHIP WITH EACH OTHER, ENCOURAGING ONE ANOTHER AS WE GET ON WITH OUR DAILY JOURNEY IN LIFE

