Walking through the valley of despair


“And the poor and the needy shall exult; for [when] they shall seek water, and there shall be none, [and] their tongue is parched with thirst, I the Lord God, I the God of Israel will hear, and will not forsake them: 18 but I will open rivers on the mountains, and fountains in the midst of plains: I will make the desert pools of water, and a thirsty land watercourses.” Isaiah 41:17-18

Life has forced us to travel through unbelievably dry valleys. There is intense pain there. Our innermost being feels threatened. Our soul cries out, “God, why did you allow this to happen to me? How long must I endure this trial?” You thirst for a spring of hope, but God seems so far away.
Our life is shaped to a great extent on how we respond to these valley experiences. In the valley of despair we may be tempted to close our heart to God’s grace, doubting He cares for us. But we can be sure that HE cares and He will never forsake us.

Healing can begin while we are in the valley of despair. It is in my deepest, driest, loneliest valley that I discovered the most of God’s love. My emotional pain was so great that I knew nothing mattered except God Himself. The valley cleared the way for God to reveal Himself to me in a new way. He became real to me as life itself. His Word took on new life. I found out that God is Lord of the valleys.

Valley experiences are inevitable. We all go through them at one time or another. No two valleys are the same. Some are long, some short, some are deeper than others, some are dark causing great pain and heartache.

Our faith is tried in these valley experiences. We feel alone, forsaken. We often wonder if we will ever emerge from the valley. But as we see in Psalm 22 (23):4. “Yea, even if I should walk in the midst of the shadow of death, I will not be afraid of evils: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff, these have comforted me.” We are never alone, He is there with us, walking by our side, comforting and loving us.

May we all have a blessed weekend! May the Love of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ fill our most inner being!

2 thoughts on “Walking through the valley of despair

  1. I am so blessed that we have a God that walks through these moments with us. The fact that He gives us amazing friends along the way to comfort is a testimony to His goodness. I loved this post….well done, Sweet Friend!

YOUR COMMENTS BRING SO MUCH JOY TO ME, ESPECIALLY KNOWING THAT MOST OF US ARE MILES AND MILES AWAY FROM EACH OTHER. IT MAKES ME FEEL AS IF WE ARE TOGETHER ENJOYING FELLOWSHIP WITH EACH OTHER, ENCOURAGING ONE ANOTHER AS WE GET ON WITH OUR DAILY JOURNEY IN LIFE

