Did She Know?


christ_is_born-983303

On Christmas Eve at our wonderful candlelight service, I sang one of my favourite Christmas songs “Mary Did You Know?”.

As I practiced the song and allowed the words to sink deep into my heart, tears were streaming down my cheeks and these thoughts just came to my mind:

A young woman in a very conservative community was visited by God’s angel and was told she would give birth to God’s Son. She didn’t even think of the consequences this might have in her life, relationships, etc but immediately said “yes”.

She could have been abandoned by her family, friends, fiance and be considered an outcast, but that didn’t cross her mind. She just answered “YES” to the treasure of her heart- God.

I wonder if she knew that her baby boy would make her new, would deliver her and all the world, would give sight to the blind, hearing to the deaf, life to the dead? I wonder if she knew her baby boy would walk on water, calm a storm, feed thousands, heal the lame, etc? Did she know that her baby boy was with God in the beginning of creation? Did she know that her baby boy would one day rule the nations? Did she know that He would suffer death on a cross and that her pain would be unbearable?

I personally don’t think she knew all this. One thing I know for sure is that she trusted God with all her being and knew that His plans for her life were the best.

A humble, young girl that could have been filled with pride when she heard that she was highly favored and chosen by God to give birth to His Son, yet there was not even a tiny bit of pride in her but great love, humility, loyalty and trust towards her heavenly Father.

How many times have we been asked by God to do something and we have doubts, we question Him, we are hesitant to do it because it requires sacrifice?

How many times do we allow pride to enter in our life when we are chosen to do something for Him?

She is such an excellent example of a woman of God. A woman who belonged 100% to Him. A woman of great faith, humility and trust that obeyed and followed His plans.

Everytime I listen/sing this song I am in tears especially where the lyrics say “when you kiss your little baby, you kiss the face of God and the sleeping child you’re holding is the Great I AM”

HOW AWESOME!!!!

As we get ready to bid farewell to 2013 and welcome 2014 may our treasure be God in all areas of our life.

Wishing you all a Blessed New Year!!!!

Natasha

 

I am linking up with the following blogs. Please stop by these wonderful blogs and be blessed by all the wonderful posts.

Winsome WednesdayThriving Thursday f4Thankful ThursdayThankful ThursdaySunday StillnessTeach me TuesdaysLiving Proverbs 31, Faithful Friday

11 thoughts on “Did She Know?

  1. Natasha – What a beautiful voice you have! I am so glad that you shared it with us all. I have always been struck by the same line, “did she know that she held the great I AM”. A most overwhelming thought. May you be blessed greatly by our God in 2014, Natasha. So glad to have met you this year! Blessings, sweet friend!

    1. Thank you my dearest Barbie!!! I do hope and pray that someday we can worship together… if we don’t make it here on our temporary home (earth) we will surely do it at home before our Heavenly Father!!!! May you have a blessed New Year my dear friend!!!! xoxoxoxo

  2. “As we get ready to bid farewell to 2013 and welcome 2014 may our treasure be God in all areas of our life.” I love this, Natasha! Yes, Lord–please make it so. Amen.

    1. Janet, thank you so much for stopping by!!! May you and all your loved ones have a Wonderful, Joyous, Blessed New Year!!!! 🙂

  3. Dear Natasha
    Yes, Mary is a remarkable woman. One thing that stands out to me about her, is the fact that how she blindly trusted God to do the impossible. Her acceptance reminds me of how nothing is impossible for God.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

    1. Yes, I agree with you dear Mia. May you and your loved ones have a wonderful, blessed New Year my dear friend!!! Love to you XXXX

  4. Natasha – what a beautiful video and what a lovely voice! Thank you for sharing this, which is obviously so meaningful to you. The song is a favorite of mine as well. Wishing you a Happy, Healthy New Year filled with peace…

    1. Thank you so much Theresa!!! Wishing you and all your loved ones a wonderful, creative, healthy and blessed New Year!!!! ❤

YOUR COMMENTS BRING SO MUCH JOY TO ME, ESPECIALLY KNOWING THAT MOST OF US ARE MILES AND MILES AWAY FROM EACH OTHER. IT MAKES ME FEEL AS IF WE ARE TOGETHER ENJOYING FELLOWSHIP WITH EACH OTHER, ENCOURAGING ONE ANOTHER AS WE GET ON WITH OUR DAILY JOURNEY IN LIFE

