Be Set Free


Photo credit: http://wallpaperscristaos.com.br/christianwallpapers/free
Photo credit: http://wallpaperscristaos.com.br/christianwallpapers/free

So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” John 8:36

What does it mean to be “free”? Looking up in various dictionaries the definitions are basically the same.

Free is to be able to act, speak, or think as one wants. It is a state of not being imprisoned or enslaved.

Being free is such a wonderful gift. Freedom is a priceless and very precious possession.

In today’s society we hear about freedom nearly every day. Freedom of human rights, of religion, of choice…, but if we sit down and think for a while we comedown with this question: What is real freedom and do we have it? Could we be enslaved in something thinking or believing we are free but in reality we are not?The above passage in John says it clearly ” He who the Son sets free is free indeed”

The enemy will try to make people think and believe they are free when in fact they are bound, they are slaves in different situations in their life. We see this everyday around us. If only we would take a few moments each day to look deep within us and examine our selves.

We are all slaves to sin. We tend to think that a sin has to be something serious, big like murder, adultery, etc but even a so-called “small/white lie” is a sin.

” for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” Romans 3:23

Not one of us can say that we have never sinned or never sin, this would be a lie = sin

How many of us put so many other things before God? I know I do quite a few times.  Do I have other gods in my life? Yes I do… One of them is food, another is smoking….Anything we turn to, run to, put before God is a false god.

Jesus set us free when He died and rose again….

In John 8:32 we read “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

What is this truth or should I say Who is this truth?

“Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life.” John 14:6

Jesus is the truth. When we know Him who is the truth, who is the Son then we are FREE INDEED!!!

I don’t need to turn to anyone or anything for my needs. He is Sufficient for me. He is all I need.

Come to the truth- Come to the Son- let go of yourself and surrender your all to Him and BE SET FREE!

Blessings to you all,

Natasha

Do you have any false gods in your life? Do you put other things, people, circumstances before God? Do you know the one who is the Truth that sets you free?

Please keep in mind, that if you are in need of prayer please send your request.

Linking up with

16 thoughts on “Be Set Free

  1. Praise God for the freedom of Christ!
    Thanks for sharing at Essential Fridays.
    Blessings
    Mel from Essential Thing Devotions

    1. It is such a blessing and joy Jenifer to link up and be blessed, encouraged and inspired by all!!! Thank you so much for stopping by! Blessings to you xxx

  2. Natasha, such true words. Sometimes we are enslaved to something and we don’t even know it! Or we think we have too big of a problem for God to solve. Thank you for reminding me of my freedom this morning!

  3. It’s scary how we don’t even realize that we’re putting certain things in place of God. Whatever we learn to depend on and COUNT on to fill a void – replaces Him. Thank you for this reminder! Be blessed!

  4. To the world, following Jesus, is bondage … To a child of God, following Jesus, is freedom. May many scales be removed from blind eyes. Lifting up our unsaved loved ones to our merciful God. Thank you dear Natasha for another inspiring post … blessings and hugs xxx

  5. Hi Natasha! I am coming over from Twitter.

    It is so true that most people think they are free, but are really bound to ‘stuff.’ Possessions, alcohol, you name it. God doesn’t want that for us at all. He wants us to put him first, just like you said. Then life will make sense.

    So nice to visit you here! I invite you to come on over and check out my blog too. I’d love to be blog-friends!
    Have a great Wednesday,
    Ceil

    1. Hi Ceil,
      Thank you for stopping by! I too would love to become blog friends!!! I will surely visit your blog with much joy! As you said when we Put Him first then life makes sense! A wonderful and blessed Wednesday to you too!!! xxx

    1. Love you Skye!!!! Just wanted you to know, I lost 6pounds in two days I am a so excited!!!! After so long the scale went down!!!! 🙂

      1. Yay!!!!!! I am so excited for you!!!! I am losing, too….I am thrilled. Averaging 2 lbs a week. I hope it keeps up. I have approximately 30 to go. At that point, I will re-evaluate if I want to go more.

        I am really excited that we are doing this at the same time. I was going to start a sort of “YAY!!” board on my other blog so we could announce our victories and how God is working with us. Just not sure how I want to set it up yet.

      2. I am so excited for both of us!!! We are going to make it my beautiful friend!!!!! Love you much!!! xxxx

YOUR COMMENTS BRING SO MUCH JOY TO ME, ESPECIALLY KNOWING THAT MOST OF US ARE MILES AND MILES AWAY FROM EACH OTHER. IT MAKES ME FEEL AS IF WE ARE TOGETHER ENJOYING FELLOWSHIP WITH EACH OTHER, ENCOURAGING ONE ANOTHER AS WE GET ON WITH OUR DAILY JOURNEY IN LIFE

