Come to Me


This picture was drawn by a former student of mine as a gift to me....
This picture was drawn by a former student of mine as a gift to me….

We all go through periods in our life when we feel weary, overwhelmed by different circumstances around us, tired of our dailiness. We just feel that we want to give up, we can not handle the heaviness of our burdens. We tend to feel useless, worthless….

I know I have felt this way in the past and even now in the present. I have left the window of my ears slightly open and I have been hearing these words of discouragement whispering to me. ” You have been unemployed for 4 years now, and the way things are here in Greece, and at your age (41) you will never find a job.” What about your writing? There are so many others much better than you are at this. Who is going to read what you write? Your English is not as good as others.” “So, what do you do all day? You take care of the house and the family. So, in other words you have become a maid” ” Do you think all you do is appreciated? Your weight loss journey…hahaha… You will never succeed in losing your weight. You have been fat most of your life and you always will.” ” Tired??? What do you mean tired? What do you do all day? Your dreams, it is too late to accomplish them… You are too old now.”

These are things that are being whispered to me these past days… I was even considering closing my blog yesterday until I received a phone call from a lady I had once met a few years ago when I was working. We had exchanged phone numbers, had called each other once in the past and that was it. I had even lost her phone number… I was so happy to hear her voice. As we were talking and arranging to meet up next week for a coffee, she told me, my words to her were an oasis, a stream of water that refreshed her soul. She needed to hear the words I spoke to her…. She told me , I was a gift to her from the Lord and an answer to her prayers. Her words brought tears to my eyes. The Lord spoke to me through her, encouraging me to continue all I was doing, because it is not I doing these things on my own but He is with me, working through me…

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11: 28-30

This passage of scripture has been on my heart for the past days… Most of see this as an invitation of those who are physically tired and burden… This is not just an invitation for the physically weary but for the those whose soul is weary.

He is inviting us all to make that step of faith and come to Him… The word come requires movement, requires changing of position ( I am here and going there). Don’t stay where you are but trust in Me and Come to Me.

He also invites us to take His yoke upon us, to be under His power, His guidance, His teachings, His ways and to learn from Him.

When we come to Him, he promises to give us rest, to refresh us, renew us, rejuvenate and restore us. Coming to Him we are relieved, whatever is a heavy burden for us is taking off our shoulders and we are free, our souls find rest, find peace….

He tells us to learn from Him who is gentle and humble in heart… He comes to meet us at our level just like we would bend over or kneel to come to the level of our children when they were young….

We have so many things to learn from Him. He knows the plans He has for us and He will give us the desires of our hearts….

Shut the windows of those voices that are trying to rob us of this rest and come to HIM!!!!

Blessings and love to you all,

Natasha

Linking up this week with:

Three Word Wednesday, Testimony Tuesday,Wednesday Prayer Girls, Whimsical Wednesday, Walking Redeemed, Thriving Thursdays, Word-Filled Wednesdays, Tell His Story, Doing you Well Wednesday, F4 Thankful Thursday, Everyday Jesus

12 thoughts on “Come to Me

  1. Oh those whispers of discouragement. I’m so glad you did not let them convince you to shut down your beautiful blog here. My prayer is always when we hear those words that instead of believing them we remember how desperatly we need Him and it leads us to pursue Him with more desire. Your words are always encouragement to my heart. Please, PLEASE keep on writing friend. You are a blessing. Sending hugs from across the miles.
    Love you,
    Beth

  2. This is so great, Natasha!! I love those moments when we are about to throw in the towel yet Jesus brings someone across our path to encourage our hearts. So thankful you listened to His voice. Keep writing, sweet friend. It matters. It really does!

    PS: Thanks so much for linking up with Everyday Jesus. It blesses me!

  3. How wonderful that we have such a great Savior to lean on…no matter what is going on. He is always there for us. Prayers for you, dear friend! Thanks for linking up to Testimony Tuesday. Much love!

  4. Natasha, Great to meet you. I have often felt the same things, but as the others have said it is not about us, it is about Him and touch lives. We do make a difference. Believe it! You touched mine today! Be blessed in Him.

  5. Hi Natasha! Isn’t it wonderful how powerful a good word from a friend is? I think we all need someone to support and encourage us so those voices inside don’t get so loud. God’s ways are not our ways. It might look like a desert now, but the oasis is right around the corner (as you found with your friend!). Don’t give up on things that you love. You love them for a reason.

    God doesn’t give you a passion for something, and not use it. Who knows how many people have been touched and encouraged by your words and your story? Looks like it’s happened, judging from the comments you have here. I wish you comfort in your encouragers here, and in your friends. Don’t forget, God sees where you are. He will life you too.
    Thank you for being so honest, and for sharing your thoughts.
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    1. Oh Ceil, I won’t give in to those lying whispers… I will admit there are days when I am low, but I am learning that all I have, all that is within me and all that flows through belongs to Him and is for His glory!!! Thank you for encouraging words, love and support…. Blessings and love, Natasha

  6. Natasha – I am so glad that you were the link just before me at Doing You Well This morning. Oh my sweet friend, please do not close your blog. Please do not listen to those voices of discouragement. You have blessed me time & time again. You have brought me such encouragement & joy since we have connected. I am so grateful that our God brings His people together to lift one another up. Praying that I will be able to read your words for years to come!
    Love & Hugs to you!
    Joanne

    1. Oh Joanne, thank you so much for your encouraging words! No, I will not give in to those lying whispers… I am so blessed and honored to have connected with you!!! Love, blessings and hugs my dear friend!!! xxx

  7. Oh, Sweetheart, please do not close your blog. I had the exact same thing happen to me the other day. I was ready to delete it because I feel the same things. I read your blog and feel the same way. You have such a gift, and I feel mine comes up so short in comparison to yours. I wish I could write the way you do. God, in His faithfulness, though, sends just who we need to reach our hearts in those moments of giving up. I finally had someone that I know here in my home town tell me that they love my words and that she reads my blogs every morning!!! Mine???? There are so many good ones out there–and she is my Pastor’s wife!!!! See, miracles. And we touch the right people in God’s timing.

    See, the thing is…it is not about us. We write what He lays on our hearts; and He does the rest. He brings the ears that need to hear and the hearts that need that special touch. Don’t give up. Even if you only touch one heart for the kingdom your whole entire time of writing; that is one more soul in glory that might not have been there!!! Let’s agree to come to each other before hitting that delete account button!!!! I love you, Natasha!!!

    1. Oh my sweet Skye!!! What a blessing you are to me!!! Yes, it is not about us and all about Him…even if only one heart is touched for the Kingdom…!!! Love you so muchxxxxx

      1. Hey Skye and Natasha!! I just want to join the conversation and say, “Same here.” Natasha, I was just reading this passage today and again the Lord is confirming His word to me for today. Thank you! It was just a few days ago I was thinking of closing mine down. The thoughts coming to me were: You’re not good at this blogging thing. Might as well shut it down. I will keep blogging as long as the Lord wants me to. Blessings!! *hugs*

YOUR COMMENTS BRING SO MUCH JOY TO ME, ESPECIALLY KNOWING THAT MOST OF US ARE MILES AND MILES AWAY FROM EACH OTHER. IT MAKES ME FEEL AS IF WE ARE TOGETHER ENJOYING FELLOWSHIP WITH EACH OTHER, ENCOURAGING ONE ANOTHER AS WE GET ON WITH OUR DAILY JOURNEY IN LIFE

