Learn to Rest


Rest

 Noise, crowd, work, stress, traffic, home keeping are just a few of the things that are in our daily life.

We constantly hear from others around us, or we too have also said ” I am so tired! I am burned out! I am overwhelmed! If only the day had more than 24 hours or the week more than 7 days, my life would be better”

Is this what God, the Author of creation, our heavenly Father intended for us? Did He give us an overwhelming, exhausting, stressful life? Hmmm, I don’t think so!

In Genesis, the first book of the Bible, He sets an example for us.

2 And on the seventh day God finished the work that he had done, and he rested on the seventh day from all the work that he had done. 3 So God blessed the seventh day and hallowed it, because on it God rested from all the work that he had done in creation. Genesis 2:2-3

He created everything in 6 days and on the 7th day He RESTED

What does “rest” mean?

These are just a few definitions of the word from various dictionaries: Rest is freedom from work, toil, strain or activity. Rest is the cessation of motion or action of any kind, and applicable to any body or being, as rest from labor, rest from mental exertion or rest of body or mind. A body is at rest, when it ceases to move. The mind is at rest, when it ceases to be disturbed or agitated.

Rest is a command. It is the 4th of the ten commandments. It is an act of obedience and worship ( Leviticus 26:2)

When we rest we reap fruit and blessings (Leviticus  25:18-22)

Our bodies need rest to function properly and be healthy. Our mind and spirit need rest to be refreshed, renewed, revived.

I will use my self as an example.. There have been many times when I have burned myself out by just doing too much. This had made me get physically ill (headaches, pains in joints and neck, stress attacks), it has changed my eating habits causing weight gain or a plateau in my weight loss. I get agitated, angry, frustrated, grumpy, constantly shouting, nagging at everyone around me. Wow! What a great example of a Christian to those around me!!!

Rest is a way of moving away from the crowds, from the busyness of life, shutting out everything and learning to be still. It does not have to be Saturday “Sabbath” or Sunday, it could be any other day we choose to just move away from everything and find time to rest in Him. with Him, in His word, in prayer. It is a time were we also “pamper” ourselves, by doing things we enjoy. It is not the end of the world if I do not cook for a day, clean the house, do errands, but spend a day resting and enjoying those near me and the beauty of all things around me, contemplating on His word which is the bread and water for my soul. A day where I can sleep in or take a nap anytime. A day where I will follow no schedule, but just enjoy each moment as it comes through the day.

We are on our Lent journey towards Easter. What a wonderful time to slow down, draw nearer to Him and learn to REST in Him.

Blessings and love to all!!

Natasha

Linking up with these wonderful blogs. Make sure to visit them and be blessed!

kkgz bloghoplollipop juanamikelsbuttonwednesdayslink
testimonytuesday2_zpse631a648 w2wbutton175x175 tellhisstory-badge thankfulthursday_zps85132375  Thriving-Thursdays 5minutefriday
Essential-Fridays4-700x700 new-whimsical-wed OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8 thoughts on “Learn to Rest

  1. Hello friend! Yes! Rest!! This has been on my heart in terms of making sure I allow that time for rest in my week…having a day of Sabbath. I need it. I need that time to disconnect and be with Him. Great encouragement. THANK YOU.

  2. Where there is His peace, there is rest … when we distinguish the rest of His peace with our ‘busyness’ or poor organization of our priorities physical or spiritual, His rest is lost in anxiety. Thank you so much for this Natasha. I lift you up in the name of Jesus and pray that He would deliver you from these migraines and any other symptom that is causing you distress … I’m on my first Lenten journey … He is drawing me so much closer … I must decrease that He may increase. God bless, dear Sister xxx

  3. Natasha – I think you titled it right – we LEARN to rest. And it is a hard lesson to learn. Or experience. I do think I have learned it several times in my life because obviously, I fail to remember this lesson. I am finding myself most grateful for this Lent season as I am learning again to focus on Him, the Bread of Life, my life. Thank you for writing & sharing this post with us all. It blessed me this morning!

    1. Praise God!!! I have been suffering with a migraine all day and it has been so difficult to post… I felt though that it had to be done today… May you find rest in Him and let His river of peace flow through you my dear brother refreshing you!!! Blessings xxx

YOUR COMMENTS BRING SO MUCH JOY TO ME, ESPECIALLY KNOWING THAT MOST OF US ARE MILES AND MILES AWAY FROM EACH OTHER. IT MAKES ME FEEL AS IF WE ARE TOGETHER ENJOYING FELLOWSHIP WITH EACH OTHER, ENCOURAGING ONE ANOTHER AS WE GET ON WITH OUR DAILY JOURNEY IN LIFE

