Take that step


8ee9489f7ea3b4cfe1d03ffe1c8308dc

I am sure all of us have heard or have even said the phrases “take a step at a time”, “Keep climbing step by step”, ” just a few more steps and you are there” and many more…

From the moment we start walking as babies our life journey is one of many steps. When we are young we really don’t have any fear and we want to make new steps. As we grow older, our hearts are filled with fear and sometimes we stay stuck in places becoming unhappy and drained because we are too afraid to take that next step.

Sometimes we become so comfortable where we are or how our life is that when we need to make the decision to take a new step we prefer not to.

I was in a place like that too. After many years of job searching I finally got a job. I was excited, I felt useful again. I could help with some expenses in the home. All was well. My mood had changed and I was just so happy. About a month ago, I could see things were not going well with my position. I was not doing as well as I was in the beginning. I kept trying to do better but it wasn’t working out. I didn’t want to be without a job again. Especially how things are here in my country with the crisis.

It was a Thursday and I was alone in the office. We had some technical issues and I couldn’t get any work done. I took my coffee and went out on the balcony. As I was thinking about the situation, I felt like I heard a gentle voice telling me to write an email to my managers explaining to them that I really am not the person suitable for the position. This is the conversation that immediately followed between my me and the gentle voice .

  • Me: “If I do this, I could be without a job tomorrow or next week”
  • The gentle voice: ” Do you Trust me?” (Trust was my word for 2015)
  • Me: ” Of course I do, but…”
  • The gentle voice” Do you trust me to take that step of faith” 
  • Me: ” I do but I just got the job a few months ago and now I could be without one again for quite some time and….”
  • The Gentle voice: ” If you trust me then you should know I want what is best for you. I have told you I know the plans I have for you. Write the email and send it. Take that leap of faith and trust me.”

Believe me it took me nearly 30 minutes to hit the send button once I had written the email.

To make a long story short, I did send it and the next day my contract with the company was over.

I was deeply saddened to have lost my job, but there was such a sense of peace over me, which is indescribable.

I did take that step of faith. I still do not know where this will lead me, or what is ahead of me. I know one thing though, my God will never leave me, nor forsake me. He is always there for me. He has always provided for my needs and will continue to take care of me and my family. He fills me with peace. His JOY ( which is my word for 2016) is my strength. Although everything seems uncertain and unclear, I know one thing ” I can and will trust Him in all things, for He knows what is best for me and my family”

Life is a journey with many risks. Many characters of the bible took steps of faith. These steps were steps of obedience. You see Trust and Obedience are intertwined. To obey means to trust, and when you trust you obey. God has control over all things and will accomplish good for us.

Are you at a place where you feel stuck? Are you too afraid to take that next step in your life, your job, your relationships? Do you Trust Him?

He truly knows what is best for us. Fix your eyes on Him. Seek Him with all your heart and you will find Him.

” When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. ”  Psalm 56:3

Blessings and love to all!!

Natasha

Linking up with ” Unite”, “Testimony Tuesday” ” Tell Me A Story”, ” Intentional Tuesday”, “Sharing His Beauty”,  Woman to Woman Word Filled Wednesday

11 thoughts on “Take that step

  1. I am anxious to hear the next chapter in this adventure. Do take all the usual steps to find a new job, and may you discover a happy place that will suit you and the firm that hires you. Thank you for listening to the voice of the Holy Spirit and for sharing with us here at Tell me a True Story.

  2. Jeremiah 29:11 is one of my favorite Bible verses.

    It’s so hard sometimes to step out in faith. We crave assurance and that tiny light at the end of the tunnel.

    Blessings to you and prayers that everything is working out.

    1. Thank you RobbyeFaye! I am just trusting Him and waiting for Him to lead me to the next part of this journey called life… Blessings to you!!! xoxox

  3. Natasha, I know your step of faith delighted our Father’s heart and inspired me. May you see Him do exceedingly more than you can ask or imagine!

  4. Hi Natasha,
    I’m visiting today from Coffee with your Heart — nice to meet you! I can so relate to job challenges and the astonishing feeling it must have been to know God nudged you to end your job. Waiting and trusting is such a hard thing to do, though, when we can’t see what’s waiting for us in the future. Loved this brave and honest post!

    1. Hi Valerie! Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I was so touched by your post too. Waiting and trusting is part of the journey too… Have a blessed day!!! xxx

  5. Bless you…He has. Thank you for sharing this incredible story of stepping out in faith. My husband and I are looking at some changes in our lives as we age. Some things may/probably will require that step and we want to be able to obey our God. Thank you, thank you.

YOUR COMMENTS BRING SO MUCH JOY TO ME, ESPECIALLY KNOWING THAT MOST OF US ARE MILES AND MILES AWAY FROM EACH OTHER. IT MAKES ME FEEL AS IF WE ARE TOGETHER ENJOYING FELLOWSHIP WITH EACH OTHER, ENCOURAGING ONE ANOTHER AS WE GET ON WITH OUR DAILY JOURNEY IN LIFE

