February sun, my cold and super bowl soup


 

16507453_1076532035791953_476172679_n
Super bowl Soup @ anele’s place

I have been living in Greece for nearly 32 years and this has been the coldest and most wet and damp winter I have ever experienced.

I use to be a winter person but I will be honest I have been asking for summer to come as soon as possible.

Yesterday was February 1st and after nearly two months of dark grey skies, rain, snow, and very low temperatures, the sun is seen in the sky. Greece is known for sunshine and blue sky all year round, well this winter has surely surprised us.

As the day was going by and I cooked for the family and then for myself, I took Silas our dog out and felt aches and pains all over… I thought it might be just the change of weather but this was a little warning that I was coming down once again with a cold.

By 5 p.m. I was running a fever, coughing and shivering all over.

I will be honest, I did grumble and mumble but of course that doesn’t change anything, does it?

Well, today is another beautiful sunny day and I am stuck home moving from the bed to the couch, sipping hot tea and water and feeling blahhhh…

Hubby and daughter went to work. Dear daughter took the dog out before she left home.

I needed to make some hot soup. That is what my body was craving. Our body does talk to us, we just need to learn to listen to it.

I had a few leftover roasted veggies ( 1/2 sweet potato, 2 beets, 1 carrot, 2 broccoli florets, 1 cauliflower floret). I put them in a pot and added some onion, garlic, green and purple kale, spinach, green onions, leeks, and brussel sprouts and let them boil for a max of 20 minutes. Once it was ready I immersed my hand blender and blended it until it was nice and smooth.  I served it with a TBS of Greek Strained yogurt ( Probiotics).

I really wasn’t sure how it would turn out but it was truly delicious. Especially with the herbs I used (ginger and turmeric).

I think this bowl is a super bowl full of antioxidants, vitamins, minerals and other nutrients that help our body. Let’s take a look at each item:

Kale: Is high in nutrients and low in calories. It is a loaded with powerful antioxidants, it is one of the most excellent sources of vitamin C and vitamin K. It has cancer fighting sources, it helps lower cholesterol, it is very high in Beta- Carotene and many minerals such as calcium, potassium, magnesium and more. It has powerful nutrients like Lutein which protect the eyes. This is just a synopsis of the benefits of Kale.

  • Beetroots: They are a good source of iron and folate.  They contain nitrates, betaine, magnesium and other antioxidants. They help lower blood pressure, and prevent dementia.
  • Sweet Potatoes:  They are an excellent source of vitamin A. They are also a good source of vitamin C, manganese, copper, vitamin B6, potassium, dietary fiber, niacin, vitamin B1, vitamin B2 and phosphorus.
  • Carrots: This root vegetable is a great source of beta- carotene, fiber, and antioxidants. It is very rich in Vitamins A, C, K, B8, iron, copper, manganese, folate, potassium and pantothenic acid.
  • Broccoli: It is a great source of  fiber, pantothenic acid, vitamin B6, vitamin E, manganese, phosphorus, choline, vitamin B1, vitamin A, potassium, copper, vitamin B1, magnesium, omega-3 fatty acids, protein, zinc, calcium, iron, niacin and selenium.
  • Cauliflower: A great source of choline,  fiber, omega-3 fatty acids, manganese, phosphorus, biotin,  vitamin B1, B2, and B3, the minerals potassium and magnesium, and protein.
  • Spinach: It is high in niacin ,zinc,  protein, fiber, vitamins A, C, E and K, thiamin, vitamin B6, folate, calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, copper, and manganese.
  • Brussel Sprouts: They are an excellent source of vitamin C and vitamin K,  folate, manganese, vitamin B6, fiber, choline, copper, vitamin B1,potassium, phosphorus and omega-3 fatty acids.
  • Green onions: They are a great source of vitamin C, potassium and quercetin.
  • Onions: They have antioxidant and anti- inflammatory properties
  • Garlic: It has anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial and antiviral benefits.

Now do you see why I call this a super-foods bowl soup?

I am going to make a hot cup of ginger, lemon, turmeric and honey tea to help soothe my throat.

I hope the fever stays down and does not rise.

Have a great Thursday everyone!

 

One thought on “February sun, my cold and super bowl soup

YOUR COMMENTS BRING SO MUCH JOY TO ME, ESPECIALLY KNOWING THAT MOST OF US ARE MILES AND MILES AWAY FROM EACH OTHER. IT MAKES ME FEEL AS IF WE ARE TOGETHER ENJOYING FELLOWSHIP WITH EACH OTHER, ENCOURAGING ONE ANOTHER AS WE GET ON WITH OUR DAILY JOURNEY IN LIFE

