Developing a quiet time- Be Still


63e4fd_f9af0cb0ca724d25ba2825b3940dfa16

In a chaotic society were everyone and everything is under pressure and stress, we all need a time throughout the day where we just sit still, empty our mind of our thoughts, struggles and problems and seek peace. Many call this meditation, I call it my quiet time.

What time of the day do I usually sit still? There really is not set time. It depends on each individual.

I usually start off my day with some quiet time. I like to have my first cup of coffee, my Bible, my journal and a pen.  I like to begin by thanking my Lord for the gift of each new day. Do you know that everyday is a gift to us? It should be cherished. I then open up His word and allow Him to speak to me. His Word is Alive and Active (Hebrews 4:12). During this time of me allowing Him to speak to me, I am totally still. I am learning through this to surrender myself wholly to Him. When I say wholly I mean body,mind and spirit. It is the time I empty myself of me, of my carnal desires, of my struggles, of my failures, of my sins and become and empty vessel where I can be filled by Him. His thoughts become my thoughts. His desires become my desire. His will becomes my will.

As I sit there just breathing I want this breath which truly does not really belong to me be refreshed and renewed. I want Him to breathe in me again.

His fresh breath will fill me up with such peace and energy to help me through out the day.

Does it mean my problems will be solved and vanished? Does it mean I will suffer no more? Does it mean I will have no temptations? No, problems, sufferings, temptations will always be here on this journey called life. The difference is by spending time alone with Him, being still and knowing that He is God gives me the strength, peace and tools to continue on this journey.

Sometimes, if I don’t have time in the morning or if I am having a very hectic day, I will try to take some time out and just be still before Him. I exhale my anxieties. I inhale His breath of peace. I exhale my anger. I inhale His peace, and so on…

I encourage you find some time in your day and be still before Him. You will be transformed.

Be blessed,

Natasha @ Anele’s Place

Joining the wonderful community of Five Minute Friday. This weeks word prompt is “Breathe”

One thought on “Developing a quiet time- Be Still

YOUR COMMENTS BRING SO MUCH JOY TO ME, ESPECIALLY KNOWING THAT MOST OF US ARE MILES AND MILES AWAY FROM EACH OTHER. IT MAKES ME FEEL AS IF WE ARE TOGETHER ENJOYING FELLOWSHIP WITH EACH OTHER, ENCOURAGING ONE ANOTHER AS WE GET ON WITH OUR DAILY JOURNEY IN LIFE

